HomeEuropeScotlandPlaces to Stay • Highlands & Islands

Scottish Highlands Hotels & Accommodation

The Scottish Highlands, known locally simply as the Highlands are a historic region of Scotland. The region became culturally distinguishable from the Lowlands from the later Middle Ages into the modern period, when Lowland Scots replaced Scottish Gaelic throughout most of the Lowlands.

Magical Journeys to Scotland

Areas of the Highlands: AberdeenshireAngusArgyll and ButeCairngorm
Central ScotlandHebridesHighlandIsle of SkyeLoch LomondLoch Ness
MorayMoray FirthNorthern HighlandsOrkney IslandsPerthshire
Road to the IslesStirlingshireTayside

• Inverness

Inverness Hotels, Accommodation in Scotland

As 'Capital of the Highlands', Inverness is an excellent base for exploring this part of Scotland. Loch Ness with its famous monster is only a few miles away, and in the opposite direction lies the Culloden Battlefield. Buildings in Inverness include Inverness Castle …

… areas of the Highlands & Islands

» Aberdeenshire

Aberdeenshire Hotels, Scotland

Aberdeenshire takes its name from the old County of Aberdeen. Modern Aberdeenshire includes all of what was once Kincardineshire, as well as part of Banffshire. Aberdeenshire borders Angus and Perth and Kinross to the south, and Highland and Moray to the west …

» Angus

Angus Hotels, Scotland

Angus is one of the council areas of Scotland. The council area borders Aberdeenshire, Dundee City and Perth and Kinross. Angus was historically a county, known officially as Forfarshire from the 18th century until 1928 …

» Argyll and Bute

Argyll and Bute Hotels, Scotland

Argyll and Bute covers the second largest administrative area of any Scottish council. Including islands, there are over 3,000 miles of coastline. The later scenes of the 1963 James Bond film From Russia with Love were filmed around the lochs and hills of Argyll and Bute …

» Cairngorm

Cairngorm Hotels, Scotland

The Cairngorms are a mountain range in the eastern Highlands of Scotland closely associated with the mountain of the same name - Cairn Gorm. The Cairngorms National Park covers the Cairngorms range of mountains, and surrounding hills …

» Central Scotland

Central Scotland Hotels, Scotland

Central Scotland (Roinn Meadhanach in Gaelic) was a local government region of Scotland from 1975 to 1996. It is now divided into the council areas of Clackmannanshire, Falkirk and Stirling, which had previously been districts within Central …

» Hebrides

Hebrides Hotels, Scotland

The Hebrides is a diverse archipelago off the west coast of Scotland, composed of the oldest rocks in the British Isles. They can be divided into two main groups: Inner Hebrides, including Skye, Mull, Islay, Jura, Staffa and the Outer Hebrides, including Lewis and Harris, Berneray, North Uist, South Uist, Barra and St Kilda …

» Highland

Highland Hotels, Scotland

Highland is a council area in the Scottish Highlands and is the largest local government area in both Scotland and the United Kingdom as a whole. It shares borders with the council areas of Moray, Aberdeenshire, Perth and Kinross, and Argyll and Bute …

» Isle of Skye

Isle of Skye Hotels, Scotland

Isle of Skye is the largest and most northerly large island in the Inner Hebrides of Scotland. The island's peninsulas radiate from a mountainous centre dominated by the Cuillins, the rocky slopes of which provide some of the most dramatic mountain scenery …

» Loch Lomond

Loch Lomond Hotels, Scotland

Loch Lomond is a freshwater Scottish loch which crosses the Highland Boundary Fault. The loch contains many islands, including Inchmurrin, the largest fresh-water island in the British Isles. Loch Lomond is a popular leisure destination …

» Loch Ness

Loch Ness Hotels, Scotland

Loch Ness is a large, deep, freshwater loch in the Scottish Highlands extending for approximately 23 miles southwest of Inverness. Loch Ness is best known for alleged sightings of the cryptozoological Loch Ness Monster, also known affectionately as Nessie …

» Moray

Moray Hotels, Scotland

Moray (pronounced Murray, Scottish Gaelic Moireibh or Moireabh) is one of the 32 council areas of Scotland. It lies in the north-east of the country, with coastline on the Moray Firth, and borders the council areas of Aberdeenshire and Highland …

» Moray Firth

Moray Firth Hotels, Scotland

The Moray Firth is a roughly triangular inlet (or firth) of the North Sea, north and east of Inverness, which is in the Highland council area of north of Scotland. It is the largest firth in Scotland, stretching from Duncansby Head (near John o' Groats) in the north …

» Northern Highlands

Northern Highlands Hotels, Scotland

The Northern Highlands of Caithness, Sutherland and Ross and Cromarty. The Northern Highlands offer an excellent choice of things to do. There are lochs - all but uncountable numbers in the north-west - to satisfy anglers who love solitude …

» Orkney Islands

Orkney Islands Hotels, Scotland

Orkney, also known as the Orkney Islands, is an archipelago in northern Scotland, 16 kilometres north of the coast of Caithness. Orkney comprises approximately 70 islands, of which 20 are inhabited. The largest island is known as the Mainland …

» Perthshire

Perthshire Hotels, Scotland

Perthshire extends from Strathmore in the east, to the Pass of Drumochter in the north, Rannoch Moor and Ben Lui in the west, and Aberfoyle in the south. Perthshire is known as the big county and has a wide variety of landscapes including mountains of the southern Highlands …

» Road to the Isles

Road to the Isles Hotels, Scotland

The A830, sometimes known as the Road to the Isles (although in reality it forms only a part of that historic route), is a road in Lochaber, in the Highlands of Scotland, which connects the town of Fort William to the port of Mallaig …

» Stirlingshire

Stirlingshire Hotels, Scotland

Stirlingshire, or the County of Stirling, is a registration county of Scotland, based around Stirling, the county town. It borders Perthshire to the north, Clackmannanshire and West Lothian to the east, Lanarkshire to the south, and Dunbartonshire to the south-west …

» Tayside

Tayside Hotels, Scotland

Tayside was a local government region of Scotland. It is now divided into the council areas of Perth and Kinross, Angus, and the City of Dundee. The administrative heart of the Tayside region is Dundee, famous for it's cake, marmalade and the birthplace of Beano and Dandy …

HomeEuropeScotlandPlaces to Stay • Highlands & Islands

Scotland Tours, Travel & ActivitiesScottish Highlands
Tours & Activities

Scotland Tours, Travel & Activities

Advertised as the Gateway to the Highlands by the local authority, and long regarded as the capital of the Highlands, Inverness is regarded as the centre for commerce and industry in the Scottish Highlands, with continuing new investment in traditional industries and new hi-tech industries. It is also said to be one of the fastest growing cities in Europe …


Discover the Scottish Highlands & IslandsDiscover the
Scottish Highlands

Destination Scotland A-Z

The Scottish Highlands include the rugged and mountainous regions of Scotland north and west of the Highland Boundary Fault. The Great Glen divides the Grampian Mountains to the southeast from the Northwest Highlands …


Scotland Travel Guides

Scotland Travel Guides